Author Topic: Hekman Spinet Secretary Desk ---- 1930's?  (Read 20219 times)

Rudi

• View Profile
Hekman Spinet Secretary Desk ---- 1930's?
« on: July 11, 2010, 08:31:43 pm »
Hi everyone, yes I am a newbie. I have done as much research as I can today finding a nice person in CA who has a desk similar to mine --- her desk has the Hekman label in tact.... my desk has the label partially peeled off but enough of it to see the distinctive H with the red and gold.

Story of the desk is that I bought it in Decatur GA around 1977 from an older woman who was moving from her home to a retirement home --- my guess is she was in her 70's or older at the time. I believe she was the original owner - I also have a spindle looking wooden chair that I bought with it -- no pics of that though.

So I believe this is a Hekman Spinet Desk ---- since his sons started the furniture business in 1920's I am assuming from her age etc that the desk was from that era --- not sure if this label was used on the pieces Hekman did around 1900?

Anyway, I am uploading a couple of pictures of the desk and one of the half peeled label ---- Thank you for any information you can pass my way.

Regards,

sapphire

• Without direction, we are lost.
    • View Profile
Re: Hekman Spinet Secretary Desk ---- 1930's?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2010, 09:13:28 pm »
Welcome Rudi!  On doing a quick search, other than coming up with likely the same hits as you of those on ebay or worthpoint I did come across this bit on another site......

http://staugustine.com/stories/102305/off_3405156.shtml  (this is dated Oct., 2005)

"Q. Please tell us about a desk that was recently given to us. It opens like a piano to expose the writing surface and cubby holes. The drawers are dovetailed. It's marked: "Hekman Furniture Co., Grand Rapids, Mich."